Learn how to set up different status types, as well as which default statuses are available.
New to booking statuses? Read the first article in this series for an introduction to Booking Statuses.
Which plans include this feature?
Legacy: Soho, Pro, Plus, Enterprise, Flex
New: Starter, Growth, Managed | Learn more about our new plans or how to change your plan.
Where can I find this feature using the top menu?
Manage > Layout > Booking Statuses
What more do I need to use this feature?
Admin permissions to manage your account.
Which Checkfront version supports this feature - classic, new, or both?
- The Booking Status feature is available to both those using items (Inventory > Items), a key feature of our classic version of Checkfront, and those using products (Inventory > Products), a key feature of our newest version of Checkfront.
New to Checkfront - Products ✨
With our newest version of Checkfront, we have added products (Inventory > Products) as the successor to items (Inventory > Items).
Are you interested in migrating to our newest version? Please reach out to our Technical Support team for more information.
Setting status typesBack to top
The system automatically sets some of these statuses when certain functions are performed.
For example, the system sets the status as Deposit if a partial payment is applied to an invoice. The status is set to Paid if full payment is applied to an invoice.
You can also manually apply statuses to update the progression of the booking. We look at this in further detail in the following article.
An example might be a Customer paying their balance in situ with cash. You can pull up the invoice, change the status to Paid, and apply a POS payment to balance the books.
Reviewing the default statusesBack to top
So let's have a look at the system statuses. You are free to change the labels on these to suit the needs of your business. However, the status IDs are not user-configurable due to their roles within the system.
This locked status is used to hold a booking pending confirmation. Inventory is set aside and unavailable for further bookings.
This locked status is used to confirm the completion of a booking, with or without a payment. Inventory is set aside and unavailable for further bookings.
Bookings that auto-import from myallocator automatically create using the Reserved system booking status.
It is recommended not to adjust the Reserved system booking status if you also use myallocator.
Learn more about myallocator here:
The system uses this locked status when a partial payment has been applied to a booking.
The system Deposit status notification is only sent when the booking changes to the Deposit status. Partial transactions applied when the booking is already at the Deposit status do not trigger the Deposit notification to send again.
Learn more about the available Ecommerce settings here:
The system sets this locked status after an invoice has been paid in full through a Payment Provider, keeping in mind that this means the transaction has been authorized for payment and potentially paid out.
How long it takes for the deposit to arrive in your bank account depends on your payout schedule with your Payment Provider.
This status can be set manually if POS receives payment. Inventory is set aside and unavailable for further bookings.
Learn more about the available Ecommerce settings here:
This is an unlocked status by default. Similar to Pending. However, the item/product booked is not held aside while the booking is confirmed.
This is unlocked status is used to cancel a booking and return items or products to inventory when a payment has been applied to the invoice.
An unlocked status, like Cancelled, is used to void a booking and return items or products to inventory. A booking can only be marked as Void if no payments have been applied.
If payments have been applied, the Void status is not available for use and Cancelled should be chosen instead.
Void status bookings are only held in the system for 30 days (aside from permanent notations within the Account Activity report (Reports > Account Activity) showing the Void event).
This provides you with a window of opportunity to reconcile your reports and our Support team to troubleshoot missing payments better, etc.
If you want to retain the booking records in your system, please use the Cancelled status instead of Void.
After the Customer Booking Form is submitted and the payment page arrives, this locked status holds a booking until payment is completed.
If your Ecommerce settings do not require payment to complete a booking, the status automatically sets to the default Customer Status in the Configuration area (Manage > Setup > Configuration).
Pre-bookings are only held in the system for 30 days (aside from permanent notations within the Account Activity report (Reports > Account Activity) showing the Pre-booking or Void event).
This gives you time to reconcile your reports and our Support team time to troubleshoot missing payments.
Inventory within Pre-Bookings is held for 15 minutes.
If the hold time passes before the booking is completed, then the inventory is released unless the Customer chooses to extend the time.
There is no option to adjust the default Pre-Booking hold time.
Paid in GYG
For those with the GetYourGuide integration, bookings display with a status of Paid in GYG. The booking status cannot be disabled or set not to lock inventory while the integration is enabled.
For more information about the GetYourGuide integration, please visit:
< Introduction to Booking Statuses | Changing the status of a booking >