Plan Availability: ✓ Soho | ✓ Pro | ✓ Plus | ✓ Enterprise | ✓ Flex |
Locate: Manage > User Accounts > Staff Accounts > New Staff Account/Edit Account > Permissions
- Admin permissions to manage User Accounts.
- The Staff Accounts feature is available to both those using items (Inventory > Items), a key feature of our classic version of Checkfront, and those using products (Inventory > Products), a key feature of our newest version of Checkfront.
New to Checkfront - Products ✨
Products (Inventory > Products) is the successor feature to (Inventory > Items) and is available in our newest version of Checkfront.
Not yet on our newest version and interested in upgrading? Please contact our Technical Support team for more information.
Discover more product-related help articles here: Products (New).
New to Staff Accounts? Please read the first article in this series: Introduction to Staff accounts.
Check out the following articles to learn more about Partner and Customer User Accounts:
Managing Staff permissionsBack to top
By default, new accounts are configured with Administrators (Admin) privileges. This gives the account full access to the system including features and functionality listed within the Manage menu.
- Disabling or enabling the accountBack to top
The account can be Enabled or Disabled using this setting. Staff Users cannot log in if the account is Disabled.
- Enabling Admin (or restricted) permissionsBack to top
The Admin control can be turned off so that you can view and restrict Staff members' Permissions.
With Admin Permissions disabled the categories of system Permissions are made accessible. By default, all listed Permissions are selected. Restricted Users do NOT have access to the Manage menu.
- Determining product/item and Category access restrictionsBack to top
You can also restrict Staff Account access by Category or Product/Item. By default, all Products/Items and Categories are selected.
Simply remove the check-mark next to the Category or Product/Item to remove access. Don't forget to Save your changes!
Use the Select All and Select None buttons to add or remove all permissions with one click rather than selecting each permission individually.
- Expanding and collapsing sectionsBack to top
Click on the Expand/Collapse icon at the top of the Permissions list to quickly and easily Expand and Collapse the permission sections in one move!
Item & Product Staff Account Permissions
Staff Account permission functionality differs between items and products. To learn more about the differences, view the following article:
Archiving Staff accountsBack to top
Staff Accounts can be archived if no longer needed or created in error. Simply click the Archive button found at the bottom of the Edit Account page.
Archived accounts can be found with the Staff Accounts list if you filter by the Archived status. From there you can Edit the Account and Unarchive the Staff member if need be.
Archived Staff Accounts do not count towards total Staff Accounts. If you archive a Staff Account, then this opens up a space for a new Staff Account!