Notifications for staff when customers edits booking via Customer Accounts

Comments

4 comments

  • Avatar
    Dedric Hourde

    Hi Zack Thomas

    as far as I know, there is no way for a Customer to edit a booking once submitted.

    If the Customer goes into his account, and edits a field, it only modifies the field in his account, not on the booking. Which means, when he creates a new booking, the values saved into his account will then be used. (it's called "autofill")

    But the original booking can not be edited by a Customer. Never.

    If I'm missing something, please let me know.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Zack Thomas and Dedric Hourde

    I wanted to jump in here to clarify a few things :) 

    Customer Account Edit Notifications

    Zack Thomas While this is not a feature, I do agree that this should be something that would help a lot of operators. With that said, there is some functionality that I would like to clarify with notifications that might (keyword is might) help you. 

    Notifications are triggered based on system statuses. So if the customer makes a change to the booking that does affect the current status that would trigger a notification. Such as 'Paid', then adding or adjusting an item in which a higher price occurs. This would then set the booking to 'Deposit' in turn triggering a notification for the Deposit status (if you have one). 

    I know this does not necessarily answer or solve your inquiry for updating staff of customer edits until a feature is potentially added. I did want to share that with you, in case it helped you make a workaround on your own. 

    ----

    Customer Account Edits

    Dedric Hourde I did want to chime in here to clarify that customers can edit their own bookings if the right setting is enabled. This setting is found from Manage > User Accounts > Customer Accounts > Customer Account Settings (or Customers > Directory > Customer Account Settings for short). 

    Here you can enable the setting 'Allow customer accounts to modify bookings up to' and enter the number of days before the start of the booking in which you would like customers to be able to edit their bookings. 

    However, yes, you are correct that when editing the Booking Form, this does not update already made bookings. Only new bookings made after the edit to the Form will show the new/changed details. 

    ----

    I hope this helped clarify the customer account settings, as well as our current notification system. 😀

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Dedric Hourde

    oh awesome! Thanks Kalem Wight - Technical Support Manager,

    I had totally forgotten the option for Customers to modify their booking! (I have it disabled from day 1!)

    Zack Thomas sorry for my previous reply containing wrong info!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Dedric Hourde

    Now that I see a booking CAN be edited by a Customer afterward (with the right option enabled!), I would agree with Zach:

    allowing a booking to be edited without always triggering a notification to the staff is actually risky...

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.